Failure

I have a problem with failure. I am not a great perfectionist (my husband can attest to this when it comes to baking, laundry, etc. I’m not a rules-oriented person!) but I do not like to lose. Upon failure, I often become angry with myself – “Why can’t you just DO it?” even when attempting brand new feats (i.e. hiking).

I know, it’s terrible, I’m working on it.

Here are the things I’ve been focusing on:

The educational value of failure. This is what we hear all the time, that we should learn from our unsuccessful attempts – what went wrong? how do you fix it? get up and try again!

The inevitable humor of failing. So, you got all caffeinated and tried to build a raised bed in your back yard using scrap wood, the one sawhorse that you could lug out of the basement, and ikea screws? How’d that go? Hilariously.

The freedom from the burden of perfection. Who thought that I could just pick this up and do it? I’ve never built anything before! Oh, phew. And here I thought I’d have to just be able to pick up all the material and do it without ever having done it before…

With that in mind, I’m going to be doing something that many funemployed/household/personal blogs *fail* (see what I did there?) to do… I’m going to post even when I f**k up a project.

What can you look forward to? Sunflower seed harvesting FAIL. Raised garden bed FAIL. Compost bin FAIL. Plumbing FAIL. Traveling FAIL (oh man, there are so many of these!).

I was so bad at so many things this summer! It’s going to be epic. I can’t wait.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Failure

  1. Tonya says:

    This is great! Gotta love when you think you can just do something awesome because you saw it done somewhere else. Guilty here.

Leave a Reply

